Use of UnitOfWork across multiple Repositories

Jun 2, 2011 at 5:11 AM

Hello,

I'm new to the use of the Repository pattern, so please bear with me if I'm asking an obvious question.

I'm confused by the Silk implementation of UnitOfWork.

This is my understanding of how unit of work is implemented in Silk: The UnitOfWork implementation is a DbContext (MileageStatsDbContext). The various Repositories get the UnitOfWork instance injected via the constructor i.e. they get handed a DbContext. 

In the various Create/Update/Delete methods of the Repositories, UnitOfWork.SaveChanges() is called at the end. This causes the DbContext to create a transaction and commit the changes to the database. How do you make a UnitOfWork span multiple Repository actions and apply all the changes within a single transaction?

E.g. I don't think this code in BusinessServices.cs runs in a transaction: (from \Silk\MileageStats\MileageStats.Services\BusinessServices.cs)

if (photo != null)
                {
                    DataLayer.VehiclePhoto dataPhoto = photo.ToDataModelPhoto();
                    this.photoRepository.Create(vehicleToAdd.VehicleId, dataPhoto);
                    vehicleToAdd.PhotoId = vehicle.PhotoId = photo.VehiclePhotoId = dataPhoto.VehiclePhotoId;
                    this.vehicleRepository.Update(vehicleToAdd);
                }

Shouldn't the SaveChanges call be made by the Services code outside a Repository? E.g. to a SaveChanges() method on one of the repositories?

Developer
Jun 6, 2011 at 9:17 PM

Hi stusta,

Sorry for the delay in answering this. The current code does not make use of the Unit of Work pattern. By that I mean, even though we have the interface and classes in place, we are not really using the pattern.

I'm investigating how the code ended up in this state, and I'll post back when I know more.

thanks for the catch!

Christopher

Jun 6, 2011 at 11:31 PM

That's a relief, I'm not going mad! Thanks for clarifying that.

Jun 7, 2011 at 6:22 PM