Standalone jQuery vs. ASP.NET MVC3

Aug 2, 2011 at 3:10 PM

Just came across Project Silk and skimmed through the guidance documentation. I am a total newbie to jQuery/jQuery UI and ASP.NET MVC3 (or ASP.NET for that matter) and hoping to get some guidance from this forum.

First some context. I have started an open source project with the goal to compare different technologies by creating a realistic trading application. You can see the architecture here. The current implementation uses a Silverlight front-end talking to a Java back-end via web services. I am also using the Prism guidance to implement MVVM, eventing, modularity and dependency injection on the front-end. Now I would like to add a second front-end implementation that uses HTML/JavaScript/CSS to create a smart web client. This client will be standalone from a presentation perspective, i.e. it will interact with the server only to issue commands and queries using JSON-based services.

Based on Project Silk prerequisites, I will have to learn jQuery, jQuery UI etc. Given my use case and skill set, is there any advantage in spending additional time to learn ASP.NET MVC3? What would be the pros and cons of building the entire front-end using JavaScript based frameworks (jQuery, jQuery UI, JavaScriptMVC etc.) vs. JavaScript + MVC3?

Thanks in advance for your time.

P.S. Given the goals of my project, I would really like to build both implementations, one standalone and one using ASP.NET MVC3. However given the time and effort involved, I would like to choose the easier approach first. Of course, if someone from this community is willing to contribute at least a starter implementation, I would very much welcome that.

Aug 2, 2011 at 3:18 PM